2023-02-10 · 3 min read · NFL/Football
NFL Honors- A look at all the 2022 award winners; Brian Daboll and Geno Smith

AP | Getty Images

The NFL celebrated another year of excellence by handing out its individual awards as part of the 12th annual NFL Honors on Thursday.
Kelly Clarkson was the first woman to host the event in a show which included a video address by Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy and revealed all the lucky people who walked away with a trophy.
Here is a look at the winners and what they accomplished.
MVP- Patrick Mahomes
It was a record-breaking season for the 27-year-old, who was named league MVP for a second time in his career, claiming 48 of 50 first-place votes.
He threw for over 5,000 yards in the regular season, tossed over 40 touchdowns, and has a chance to become the first NFL MVP to win the Super Bowl in the same season since Kurt Warner in 1999.
Coach of the Year- Brian Daboll
In his first season in charge of the Giants, Daboll guided them to their first winning campaign since 2016, winning the first playoff game for the franchise in 10 years.
He earned 123 total points, just slightly above the 49ers’ Kyle Shanahan, who had 100.
Comeback Player of the Year- Geno Smith
Not much was expected out of the Seahawks this season, but Smith quickly made them forget about Russell Wilson.
Geno threw for 4,282 yards and 30 scores, helping Seattle earn an improbable playoff berth.
Offensive Player of the Year- Justin Jefferson
No surprise here as the Vikings wideout was practically impossible to contain this season, with 128 catches for 1,809 yards.
He also broke Cris Carter’s club record for receptions in a season and came up big when Minnesota needed it most.
Defensive Player of the Year- Nick Bosa
It also seemed like Bosa was a slam dunk selection, leading the league with 18.5 sacks in the regular season, the first 49er to lead the NFL in that category since the stat became official in 1982.
He also had 48 QB hits, two forced fumbles, and the second-most tackles for a loss.
Offensive Rookie of the Year- Garrett Wilson
The quarterbacking situation with the Jets may be a mess, but Garrett Wilson showed he could be a stud receiver for years to come, leading all rookies with 1,103 yards receiving this season on 83 catches.
He was not only sure-handed but also made things happen when the ball was in his hands, with 411 yards after the catch, more than any rookie receiver in 2022.
Defensive Rookie of the Year- Sauce Gardner
The Jets corner was another no-brainer to win this award, defending 20 passes in the regular season with two interceptions and 75 tackles.
Per Next Gen Stats, he only allowed two touchdowns while conceding a low 48.1 completion percentage, the best among rookie corners.
Moment of the Year- Justin Jefferson catch versus the Bills
There were plenty of memorable moments from the Vikings receiver this season, but it’s hard to forget what he did against the Bills in one of the most remarkable comebacks late in a game.
His catch on 4th and 18 of that contest set the stage for one of the many incredible comeback victories the Vikings had last season.
Walter Payton Man of the Year- Dak Prescott
A former two-time Pro Bowler, Prescott became the fourth Cowboy to win this award, joining Roger Staubach, Troy Aikman and Jason Witten.
His Faith Fight Finish foundation has raised funds for numerous causes, including colon cancer research, and as the winner of this award, his charity will receive $255,000.
Sports Tree Profile

By: Joel Lefevre


Up Next

Sports Tree Blog


Read more2024-05-05 · 2 min read
Sports Tree Blog


Read more2024-05-03 · 2 min read

Sports Tree

© 2024 Sports Tree LTD.

The sports tree newsletter

Sign up for the newsletter

By submitting your email, you agree to our Terms of Service  and Privacy Policy. You can opt out at any time.