2023-11-02 · 3 min read · UEFA Champions League/Soccer
Ballon d’Or and Ballon d’Or Feminin recipients Lionel Messi and Aitana Bonmatí

Stephanie Lecocq/Reuters | Getty Images | AFP/Getty Images

Lionel Messi was named the Ballon d’Or 2023 winner at a ceremony in Paris on Monday, the eighth time he has won the prestigious award. Messi captained Argentina to 2022 World Cup success in Qatar last winter, the first time he won the tournament which ended a 36-year wait for La Albiceleste.
The 36-year-old scored twice in a blockbuster final against France in December which finished 3-3 after extra-time, scored in the penalty shoot-out and was named player of the match.
Messi fought off competition from Manchester City’s Erling Haaland and former Paris Saint-Germain team-mate Kylian Mbappe, as well as 26 other nominees to win the award.
In a league title-winning season for PSG, he played 41 matches during the 2022/23 season, scored 21 goals and provided 20 assists. At the World Cup in Qatar, Messi scored twice in the group stage and was on target in each knockout round, scoring against Australia, the Netherlands and Croatia, and then in the final. He finished second in the top goal scorer charts with seven goals and received the Golden Ball at the conclusion of the tournament in recognition of his fine campaign.
The former Barcelona forward spent 17 years with the Spanish club between 2004 and 2021 and also won the award in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021. He was 22 years old when he won his first in 2009 and 14 years later has sealed a record eighth award.
Here is a list of the rest of the award winners on the night:
  • Ballon d’Or Feminin - Aitana Bonmatí (FC Barcelona Femení, Spain)
  • Kopa Trophy for the best male U-21 player - Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid, England)
  • Yachine Trophy for the best male goalkeeper - Emiliano Martínez (Aston Villa, Argentina)
  • Gerd Müller Trophy for the highest-scoring male striker - Erling Haaland (Manchester City, Norway)
  • Gerd Müller Trophy for the highest-scoring male striker - Erling Haaland (Manchester City, Norway)
  • Club of the Year - Manchester City and FC Barcelona Femeni
Sports Tree Profile

By: Aaron Cantin


Up Next

Sports Tree Blog


Read more2023-12-01 · 3 min read
UEFA Champions League/Soccer
Sports Tree Blog


Read more2023-11-28 · 2 min read

Sports Tree

© 2022 Sports Tree LTD.

The sports tree newsletter

Sign up for the newsletter

By submitting your email, you agree to our Terms of Service  and Privacy Policy. You can opt out at any time.